Inclusive SA

About Us

The South Australian Government is leading by example and working to improve access and inclusion for people with disability. Inclusive SA is our commitment to creating a more inclusive South Australia. It is our first State Disability Inclusion Plan, bringing together State Government agencies and local councils to reduce the barriers faced by people living with disability.

In 2018, the Disability Inclusion Act 2018 (SA) was passed because we recognised that a stronger commitment was needed. This plan, and the Disability Access and Inclusion Plans (DAIPs) together will enable State Government agencies and local councils to develop and help ensure that new strategies address barriers and promote positive action.

Inclusive SA is setting specific actions for State Government agencies and local councils to achieve. These will support the implementation of the National Disability Strategy 2010-2020 (NDS) and the principles agreed in the United Nations Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities (UNCRPD).

Inclusive SA also complements the National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS), as it aims to address access and inclusion for all South Australians living with disability, including people who are not NDIS participants.

While Inclusive SA sets the focus for the next four years (until 2023), it is also a living document that will respond to shifting priorities and new information as governments across Australia work together to design a new national disability strategy for 2020 and beyond.

Inclusive SA will also be updated to reflect social, political, and environmental changes as well as any response to recommendations made by the Royal Commission into Violence, Abuse, Neglect and Exploitation of People with Disability. A revised plan will be published in 2021.

Related Links

This site is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 Licence. © Copyright 2021 DHS .

Provided by:
Department of Human Services
Last Updated:
12 Aug 2020
Printed on:
23 Sep 2023
The Inclusive SA website is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Australia Licence. © Copyright 2016