Inclusive SA

Disability Advisory Council

The council ensures a strong voice for people with disability

A 12-member Disability Advisory Council was appointed in 2022 to provide advice to the government on issues that matter most to the 330,000 South Australians living with disability, their families and carers.

The Council is chaired by Minister for Human Services, The Hon Nat Cook, who said the State Government wants to hear real life stories to inform real solutions that can be embedded into our systems and the way services are delivered.

Advisory Council members

The Disability Advisory Council members meet quarterly, and are all either living with disability or have lived experience of disability.

  • Amanda Shiell (Strategic Consultant)
  • Belinda Lambert Lawyer (Advocate for deaf community)
  • Belle Owen (Project Lead, JFA Purple Orange)
  • Ellen Fraser-Barbour (Research and Policy Lead, JFA Purple Orange)
  • Jarad McLoughlin (Advisory Group Member, People with Disability Australia)
  • Katharine Annear (Lecturer at Flinders University)
  • Kwan Leung Chia (Rural Doctor in disability)
  • Kym Langton (Reference Group Member, SA Council on Intellectual Disability)
  • Michael Taggart (Inclusion Project Officer, City of Salisbury)
  • Scott Crowley (Peer Support Advocate PQSA, DHS Disability Engagement Group)
  • Sisaleo Philavong (LGA Disability Advisory Group, DHS Disability Engagement Group)
  • Sylvia Maso (Parent and carer).

The Disability Advisory Council operates alongside the Department for Human Services’ Disability Engagement Group.

This site is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 Licence. © DHS .

Provided by:
Department of Human Services
Last Updated:
26 Oct 2023
Printed on:
03 Dec 2023
The Inclusive SA website is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Australia Licence. © Copyright 2016